Closing the Larson Series (at least for now)

I’ve had to make a hard decision, but it’s one that I had to make.  I love the Larsons.  They’re a great family.  But circumstances propel me to move on to other series with new characters.  I know this won’t make some people happy, but it’s something I need to do in order to help boost my creativity.  After a while, I think authors need a new set of characters to develop.

So here’s what I’m going to do.

I’m going to pull down Wagon Trail Bride and His Convenient Wife.

Then I’m going to number the Nebraska Historical Romance Series (aka Nebraska Series) from 1-9.  Here’s the official order:

1. Her Heart’s Desire

2. A Bride for Tom

3. A Husband for Margaret

4. Eye of the Beholder

5. The Wrong Husband

6. Shotgun Groom

7. To Have and To Hold

8. His Redeeming Bride

9. Isaac’s Decision


I’m going to make Kent Ashton’s Backstory and Catching Kent standalones.

These two are tied up in Falling In Love With Her Husband, though not directly.  And that makes them so hard to place anywhere.  So I’m just going to put them under my “Other Historical Western Romance” category.


Now it’s time to clean up my blog and website to make these changes effective.


I’ll make a post in a day or two about where I’ll be going with my writing.  I’ve been wanting to do some mail-order bride westerns and this just might be the time to get the fresh start by working on a trilogy along those lines.

About Ruth Ann Nordin

Ruth Ann Nordin mainly writes historical western romances and Regencies. From time to time, she branches out to other genres, but her first love is historical romance. She lives in Omaha, Nebraska with her husband and a couple of children. To find out more about her books, go to
This entry was posted in Catching Kent, Kent Ashton's Backstory, Wagon Trail Bride and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Closing the Larson Series (at least for now)

  1. I understand completely. Sometimes it’s just time to end a series. For both the readers and the author. But why are you taking two of the books down?

    • Wagon Trail Bride is Richard Larson’s story. Even though I like the story and know what happens, I have lost all interest in writing any more Larson books because the series just drags on and on. LOL I think as a reader, I would want to end it at 3 to 5 books. I tend to steer away from long series when buying books, so I understand why people don’t want to deal with a long series.

      His Convenient Wife is Harriett Larson’s story and (like with Richard), I’m just worn out.

      Whenever I try to write, it’s like pulling teeth, and while that is fine for a couple weeks while I’m trying to get back into a writing routine, this has been going on for over a month and that is a red flag that I don’t have the energy to devote to these books. If I do write them further down the road, I will. I’m glad I didn’t have these books under contract with a publisher. It was nice to be able to take them down so I can write something I want to write.

      • Oh, I thought when you said “pull them down”, you meant they were already out there and you were “unpublishing” them. Those are the ones you hadn’t published yet. Duh. LOL

        • I have removed a couple of published books but that was because the vanity press decided to put them into ebooks so there was no point in having duplicates out there. I think my hardest thing is knowing when it’s time to move on to something else. Just because an idea is there for a book, it doesn’t mean it needs to be done. It might mean it’ll work at a later date. I’ll save what I’ve done and see if the urge to write them ever picks up. I’m just tired of trying to force something that doesn’t want to be written.

  2. Judy DV says:

    I’ll go change them on my blog as well, Ruth.

    • Thanks. I know it’s a pain. I got to update this blog and my website. It’s the details that throw me off because when I think I’m done, I realize there’s one more thing I need to do.

  3. Judy DV says:

    Yes! I had them all numbered correctly 🙂

  4. I do understand fully and do own this series and love them. I have so many of your books and historical western romance my favorite to read. Will these two books stand alone now? I was going to start reading this series in a few days after finishing one of your trilogies.

    • Yes, the two books will stand alone or I’ll put them into a different series if I write them and figure out a couple other characters’ stories I want to write. I think once a series gets too long, it’s harder to stay with it. I tend to love trilogies most when I read another author’s work. Standalones are also a favorite. In the future, I’m going to cap my series at four books. I’ve been wanting to do a mail-order bride trilogy for a long time now, so I’m excited to be able to do that. Before, I felt like I had to finish the Nebraska series. This way, I can have the Nebraska series complete, allow myself to write those two books when they’re ready to be written, and move on to a series I’ve been eager to start.

  5. Daman Kaur says:

    I wish we had richards story too! He’s the only one missing from that generation of larsons!

    • I plan to write his story, but I’m going to probably make it a different series or make it a standalone novel. There might be some secondary characters that pop up from it that I can write in other books. I already see a possibility with one of them.

Comments are closed.