Chronological Order of Books According to the Characters Who Show Up In Them

The benefit to having written fifty romances at this point is that I get to play around with characters.  I’ll bring a secondary character from one series and merge them into another series.  This is fun because it means they continue to live far after the series is complete.  It means I never have to say the final goodbye to any of them because I might see them again.  (One of the saddest moments of finishing a book used to be saying goodbye.  But with all the books I’ve done, I never have to.)

So for those interested, here is a list of the chronological order in which these characters pop up in their own books and in other series…

Please note: as I continue writing, this order may change.

Regencies: All of these books take place in the same world, but they are divided up across series to best categorize them.  Here is the current chronological order of the books:

The Earl’s Inconvenient Wife

A Most Unsuitable Earl

Her Counterfeit Husband (this is not part of the series because there is no interplay between the characters in this book and the others)

His Reluctant Lady

The Earl’s Secret Bargain (due to the wager exposed in His Reluctant Lady)

Love Lessons With the Duke (due to the exposure of the wager)

Ruined by the Earl (due to the exposure of the wager)

The Earl’s Scandalous Wife

The Earl’s Stolen Bride

His Wicked Lady – editing

Her Devilish Marquess – currently writing

His Wallflower Bride – to be written

more to come


The Larson Family

Wagon Trail Bride (Richard Larson’s book)

Her Heart’s Desire (Sally Larson’s book)

A Bride for Tom (Tom Larson’s book) – in the process of adding the wedding night so don’t read it yet

A Husband for Margaret (friend of the family)

Eye of the Beholder (Dave Larson’s book)

The Wrong Husband (Jenny Larson’s book)

Shotgun Groom (Joel Larson’s book)

To Have and To Hold (second Dave Larson book)

His Redeeming Bride (Neil Craftsman’s book)

Loving Eliza (Eliza was in His Redeeming Bride)

Isaac’s Decision (Isaac Larson’s book; ends feud between Dave and Neil)

Boaz’s Wager (features Eva Connealy who was interested in Isaac in Isaac’s Decision; also has Rachel Larson)

Off to the side:

Falling In Love With Her Husband (this does not directly involve the Larson’s, but it has Kent Ashton who later gets woven into the Larson family)

—————Another side note: Ann and Todd Brothers show up briefly toward the end of Brave Beginnings

—————Also, Jake Mitchell from An Inconvenient Marriage overhears Kent talking to Rebecca in Falling In Love With Her Husband and talks to Ann’s father about the matter

Kent Ashton’s Backstory (shows his side of things in Falling In Love With Her Husband)

Back to the Larsons

Catching Kent (Rose Larson’s book where Kent is the hero)

His Convenient Wife (Harriett Larson and Stan Craftsman’s book)

—————-Another side note: Jeremy Graham from Bride of Second Chances talks to Dave Larson and his son, Jacob Larson who owns the mercantile by this time, for a brief moment in the story


The Native American Series

Meant to Be – minor characters, Cole and Penelope, play a role, and they become more prominent in the Native American Series

Restoring Hope (Woape’s book; Woape befriends Penelope while she’s on the run)

A Chance In Time – I go more into depth on Cole and Penelope’s relationship and show another angle to the friendship Penelope and Woape shared

Brave Beginnings (Julia and Chogan’s book)

———–During Brave Beginnings, Julia and Chogan meet Ann and Todd Brothers from Falling In Love With Her Husband

Bound by Honor Bound by Love (Citlali and Onawa’s book; Penelope and Cole come back)


I think that’s the connections I have set up at this time.  The other series I have are pretty self-contained.

I’ll make this a page on this blog post and try to add more to it as I find more connections or write more books where I make them.  😀

About Ruth Ann Nordin

Ruth Ann Nordin mainly writes historical western romances and Regencies. From time to time, she branches out to other genres, but her first love is historical romance. She lives in Omaha, Nebraska with her husband and a couple of children. To find out more about her books, go to
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chronological Order of Books According to the Characters Who Show Up In Them

  1. lgould171784 says:

    Have you ever made the villain of one story the main protagonist of another? That is something I’m thinking of doing.

    • Yep. 🙂 The villain in Eye of the Beholder is the hero in His Redeeming Bride. His name is Neil Craftsman, and people either love him or hate him. There seems to be no middle ground with him. But more often than not, I get positive feedback on him. So I say if you’re thinking of doing it, go for it. 🙂 He turned into one my deepest characters to write, and it was definitely worth it.

Comments are closed.