The Rake’s Vow is Coming out March 18 (Now Available on Pre-order)

I’m happy to announce that this is coming out earlier than I expected!

Here are the books in the Marriage by Bargain Series:

  • The Viscount’s Runaway Bride (Book 1) – Damara and Anthony’s romance
  • The Rake’s Vow (Book 2) – Loretta and Tad’s romance
  • Taming The Viscountess (Book 3) – Celia and Sebastian’s romance
  • If It Takes A Scandal (Book 4) – Candace and Corin’s romance
  • Loretta’s brother will be the hero of Book 5 (I have no title yet, and I haven’t picked out the heroine)

Will there be more?  I don’t know yet.  I’ll find out as I continue writing these books.  (I’m not a plotter like some authors.)


This is where you can find it:


Amazon UK

Barnes & Noble




(If there is an Amazon country I didn’t add on the list, let me know, and I’ll do so.)

This is Loretta’s book.  I should mention here that since it is only Book 2, it serves as a bridge from Book 1 to Book 5 (or whatever the last book will be).  I did leave a couple of things in the air.  These are all very minor things that don’t impact the main storyline.  The main storyline is Loretta and Tad’s romance.  I focus on that during the course of the book.

But Lady Eloise’s group (Ladies of Grace) is going to be an ongoing theme through this series.  Usually, my ongoing theme has been the gentlemen at White’s and the book that keeps going from one to another.  This time around, I wanted to do something different.  Instead of an elite gentlemen’s club, I chose to deal with an elite ladies’ group.  (Why should the gentlemen be the only ones with the drama?) 🙂

So there are a couple of things I intentionally do not resolve in this story, and it all has to do with the dynamics going on within Lady Eloise’s group.  One is why Lady Eloise gives Loretta the wrong time to show up to her dinner party.  There is a reason she did this, but I could not reveal it because it’s going to take Celia to figure it out.  Another is, “Which lady in this group is secretly talking to Iris?” I probably won’t reveal that one until later in the series.   Neither of these has any impact on the actual story, but it will not the subplot that is weaving through the whole series.

That’s the nice thing about series.  Series allow the writer the opportunity to bring in subtle events that later will change the status quo of how things are in the beginning.  In this case, Lady Eloise is the status quo.  I fully intend to disrupt things with her, but it’s going to take more than one book to do it.  Celia’s book will be the beginning of the turning point, and I’m really excited about it.  I know a lot of people don’t like Celia.  (I love her character, but then I know how she’s going to be by the end of her book.)  Only Celia has what it takes to stand up against Lady Eloise.

But Loretta’s book definitely sets the stage for what is to come.  I promise the main storyline is complete.  Loretta and Tad do fall in love and have their happy ending.  We will see more of them in future books in the series, of course.  I am halfway into Celia’s book right now, and Celia and Loretta have had a heart to heart talk.   One of my wonderful beta readers wanted more Loretta.  The Rake’s Vow really does read fast.  It’s longer than what I usually do, and yet, it doesn’t feel like it.  But her particular story was done, and it was time to move on to Celia.

About Ruth Ann Nordin

Ruth Ann Nordin mainly writes historical western romances and Regencies. From time to time, she branches out to other genres, but her first love is historical romance. She lives in Omaha, Nebraska with her husband and a couple of children. To find out more about her books, go to
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.